View Single Post
Old 21-04-2015, 09:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by shannonc60 View Post
This sounds like a very interesting build Steve. I've seen those remote control units and am interested to hear that so far it seems to work well. I love that you can make things flicker as well as just light up normally. Wiring is something I've never finished as I don't understand enough about how to finish everything off and get power to the unit. It doesn't help when you have to cut plugs off and strip wires to join lighting to a transformer.
Thank you Shannon. I do understand where you're coming from. I'm by no means any sort of electrics expert and I am still learning as I go along. My "proper" hobby is model railways and there can be a lot of wiring on one of those. I hadn't a clue as to where to start and it all looked completely daunting. But I read up on the subject of electrics (didn't understand it all and still don't!), gave it a try, messed up a couple of times (who's counting?), but finally got things to work.

Keep with it and I'm sure you'll get there!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sued View Post
Well done Steve. I have seen those units too. Interesting. I look forward to hearing how well they work. Certainly a talking point for visitors being able to turn one's dolls house lights on and off automatically

The oak floor is going to look wonderful when it is down. Are you going to oil it? I think the oil would bring out the colour of the oak beautifully.

Good work.

Sue
Thank you Sue. Yes, the flooring looks too much like a modern laminate floor at the moment and so I'm going to try and make it look older and "heavier" - if that makes sense. I'm making up a number of mini test floors to try up different "recipes" to see which comes out the best.

If anyone out there has some recommendations as to stains, polishes and varnishes, then I'd be very happy to hear them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebmicallef View Post